>>latest
>>archive
>>profile
>>e-mail
>>notes
>>diaryland

[[groovy musics: ]]

10:39 a.m. // 11 October 2002

I am finding it hard to come up with cunning things to say in this space. My work is sometimes more boring, sometimes more exciting now that I get to design the entertainment tabloid. I am starting to get into this new, roughly 9-6 schedule.

It's kind of like um when you're starting school again in the fall. It's dark and cool when you have to wake up in the morning, and school seems kind of like how you remember it from last year, but there's a different feel to it, everything seems a little off-kilter. Like everyone knows the program but you.

I get here at work before a lot of other people. I eat breakfast, usually cereal or yogurt and granola, at my desk even though this is supposedly a huge pet peeve of the publisher. I get to listen to KTRU and that's good. (Although this deejay now has a grating voice that's reeking of annoying vapid radio deejay personality, the cardinal sin of KTRU deejays.) I like to say this makes me more productive, this using my headphones to insulate me from the rest of the office.

Good shows: Centro-matic and Jay Bennet & Edward Burch last Saturday at rgrs, and last night's Denton bill of Jetscreamer, Pointy Shoe and Tank Tank at Liquid Lounge.

Good things I cooked this week:

  • Pizza on Afghan bread, topped with tomato sauce, spinach, garlic slices, sharp cheddar, feta and pine nuts.
  • Seaweed tempeh stir-fried with eggplant, spinach, mushrooms and onions, served with wasabi mashed potatoes, because I found mealworms in the rice.
  • Spiral pasta with cheesy pesto sauce, pine nuts and expensive chicken sausage.

    previous // next