>>latest
>>archive
>>profile
>>e-mail
>>notes
>>diaryland

[[groovy musics: Nedelle, Parchman Farm, the all-Beatles AM radio station]]

12:01 a.m. // 19 April 2005

Today I won at Scrabble. I think this might be my first win. It was a generally dismal game, but I pulled off SUGARY for some thirtysomething points.

I went to the dentist for the first time in three and a half years. The teeth cleaning was the most painful part -- there was blood on the hygienist's glove and my bib. I have to go back for a second cleaning because I have terrible plaque buildup and moderate gingivitis from not getting my teeth cleaned regularly. This is terrible, I fear for when Dwayne actually goes to the dentist for the first time in ten years.

Then I got four fillings. I have never had fillings before. The dentist was tricky because she didn't tell me when the Novocaine shot was coming, she just went ahead and did it, and I thought, "Oh. So this isn't as bad as I remember." Except for how long it takes to administer the shot. The drilling was minor, it was less bothersome than the plaque scraping. Then my jaw was numb and I talked funny and couldn't eat pinto beans when Dwayne and I went out to lunch.

Beatdown practiced again, finally. We are working on new material, lining up the shows, and figuring out who we want to invite to be our friends on MySpace.

A HA HA HA HA H AH AH HA HA H AH AH AH HA HA H AH HA HA.

Will it be you?

Our new neighbors moved in (there are only two apartments in this building and the walls are on the thinnish side). They are two guys -- Dwayne calls them "dude-bras" -- twentyish, relatively fresh out of college and now working. They said they were going to have like twenty people over Saturday night for a housewarming get-together. On Saturday night, Dwayne saw them hauling three kegs up the stairs.

Actually, it wasn't that bad. We just turned the TV up loud (In the Realms of the Unreal, the documentary on Henry Darger) and then slept on the far end of the building.

On Darger: It's perverse that his work is now commanding prices of $50,000 and upwards. Yes? yes.

I heard this story on Selected Shorts on NPR yesterday, very great. Might need to buy the book so Dwayne can read it.

previous // next