>>latest
>>archive
>>profile
>>e-mail
>>notes
>>diaryland

[[groovy musics: ]]

7:40 a.m. // 29 October 2004

I am tired of overtime. Even though I have only been working 9- or 10-hour days in comparison to Dalton's 12-hour shifts, and even though it's not the worst it's ever been (like when Hunter and I were having to do the work of four people). My brain stops working after that long and the computer screen is seared in my eyes.

Last Wednesday was ALARMIST. They had crazy guitar (Dwayne said it was like all of Tank Tank was contained in Eric's guitar) plus two crazy singers, one girl and one beardy guy. bonus is that james the singer make a funny zine. no one was there and there were three touring bands, so no one got paid that night. yes, they deserved better.

They stayed here and I got to see all of their groceries: various containers of hummus, two carrots and then two more carrots, natural peanut butter, eggless tofu salad that got pitched on account of being too old, more hummus. They had pot in a salsa jar and asked if they could smoke inside; sensing perhaps that my yes was tentative, they smoked for all of like 5 seconds.

marky g. came over saturday and dwayne and I didn't hear him and Hunter ring the loud doorbell because we were watching a parade. I am told (I did not see it) that there was an elephant in the parade, apparently hired out from the circus by the GOP.

for dinner I ate at the wedding next door. It's nice to have a reception with a Mediterranean feast right there when I want to take off work. I guess I didn't actually talk to the newlyweds, but that's what I have Dwayne around for.

we played Saturday night after I got off work. Jennifer was dancing, Mark and Johann and Hunter were smiling real big. It was only the third time I have been to Andy's. The first time was when I saw Jackson 8 play there before I met Dwayne.

Sunday shows: Johann at coffeeshop, going to Mass at UNT, Porchfesty for a little bit, Gloomadeers' last show for now, and Rev. Glasseye, who have fought the battle for the hearts and minds of Denton and who have won.

oh yah, for some reason I forgot we played Monday. With a neat touring band Vena Cava (the original one) and the debut of the Svengalis (evil costume-wearing supervillains from Marked Men, Riverboat Gamblers, Kickz and This Damn Town).

Tuesday: Kimya Dawson and a little bit of Fishboy. Dwayne felt his age at this show.

Wednesday was layoff day at the deathstar downtown. My friend-who-I-haven't-talked-to-for-three-years got the cut, along with a whole lot of surprises. bisesi was concerned but my paper is unaffected. actually, we are hiring.

one of the sports guys got an e-mail from some dude, which included this: "Or did the big ass at [insert corporation name here] get you too?" Someone was like, "I think they meant ax."

Wednesday night: THE SHOW IS THE freakin' RAINBOW, Vespin L. Kit, and Rick's two-piece Johnny Carson, which he thinks I hate because I didn't explicitly say that I loved it to him, but actually I liked it a lot. They have a snare (played with brushes) and a cymbal and a beat-the-fuck-up guitar, and they use no amplification. BUSKING IS THE NEW PUNK!!!!

previous // next