>>latest
>>archive
>>profile
>>e-mail
>>notes
>>diaryland

[[groovy musics: the judy's, violent femmes, the devil is electric]]

10:59 a.m. // 29 April 2003

I made 100 dill pickle buttons for a guy Dwayne knows. Last week I made Record Hop buttons, bright blue and yellow ones, and something about the colors makes me want to eat them. Funny that solo Cory said the same thing.

On Sunday Dwayne and I drove to Muenster for Germanfest. We got there just as Brave Combo was playing -- Dwayne had never seen them, even though members of Brave Combo used to go watch Jackson 8 in the early days. He decided they were hokey, at least live, because they were playing all kinds of crowd pleasers. Whatever -- any band that backs Tiny Tim is cool to me.

These ladies made Dwayne and me join in the chicken dance, as we were edging away from the dancefloor. It almost felled me, because the sun was so hot and I haven't been able to breathe right for a couple days.

I have some kind of low-grade respiratory infection that's giving me a little congestion but mostly just making it hard to breathe.

Sunday Dwayne and I also saw Of Montreal at rgrs. The kids really like them -- like everyone was underage and the bar was quiet, and we didn't recognize a single face.

Of Montreal played a good variety of songs, unlike the last time I saw them in the fall, when they played mostly stuff off Aldhils Arboretum (which I don't really like, except for "Jennifer Louise"). They covered "Cut Your Hair" and everyone went oooh-oooh-ooh-ooh-ooh-oooh wild, and they closed with "Brown Sugar."

Yesterday was cleanup day because the realtor was going to show my house, and then the person didn't show up. It was also lazy stay-at-home day because I had to re-clean my contacts after all the solution spilled out overnight. I made barbecue tempeh because I didn't go to colleen's party because I was working and eating my dinner at the Arts & Jazz Fest, but I found out they didn't really have barbecued tofu at the party, only tofu dogs. I also made turnip greens for the first time, and roasted sweet potatoes.

At the jazz fest Saturday: How did elsquid find me? A-mong thousands and thousands of people I was there for just over an hour, and she was meandering with no goal in mind and somehow found me sweating and waiting for the little Indian dancers to start the show. How? She must have GPS or something.

previous // next